But here’s the thing—in reality, I’m a maximalist. And as much as I would like to live a simple, minimalistic lifestyle, my hoarding tendencies, lack of self-control when impulse shopping, and love for all things fashion doesn’t let me live the bare-minimum lifestyle that the organized side of me would prefer. All this got me thinking: Is there a way to do clutter correctly? Being strict about clothes just doesn’t work for some people, and valuing a roomy closet over precious clothing just seems to incite a lot of regret down the line, especially if you’ve poured a lot of time and effort into building a wardrobe. (Side note: what does “sparking joy” mean anyway? I mean, all my clothes make me happy.) So, here’s the way I see it. If you can’t let go, you might as well organize it right. After years of trial-and-error, I’m proud to say that I have mastered the art of fitting as many clothes, shoes, and accessories as I can inside omy closet without it imploding. Whether you have a smaller-sized closet or a larger walk-in, these are the tips I’ve learned for making the most of the space you have. It might not pass Marie Kondo’s ritual, but hey, it brings me joy nonetheless. RELATED: 5 Brilliant Organization Ideas to Steal From the Tidiest Closets Tip: Having hangers in just one style and color will immediately give your closet a more orderly appearance. Tip: Remember to separate off-season clothing and store them away to save space. As a rule of thumb, hang up tops, outerwear, and dresses, but fold sweaters (to prevent stretching) and bottoms inside a dresser. Not sure if you need a dehumidifier? A hygrometer ($11, target.com) can help you figure out how much moisture is in the air. For preventing mold, the CDC recommends keeping the relative humidity below 50 percent. If your closet has a musty odor, that might be an indication of a bigger problem, so in addition to getting a dehumidifier, you should inspect carefully for underlying mold.